EU & US Approve Sanctions Against Russian and Ukrainian Officials

The European Union Foreign Ministers and the Government of President Barack Obama agreed to various sanctions against members of the Russian Government and several citizens of Ukraine, involved in the referendum held Sunday in Crimea.

The EU approved in Brussels sanctions of travel and assets against 21 officials whose names have not been revealed yet.

For his part, President Barack Obama announced the freezing of assets of 11 officials from Russia and Ukraine related to the military incursion on the Ukrainian peninsula of Crimea.

The Treasury Department will impose further sanctions on four Ukrainians, including the deposed President Viktor Yanukovych and two separatist leaders of Crimea.

The list also includes two assistants of President Vladimir Putin, Vladislav Surkov and Sergei Glazyev.


The European Union considers approving new sanctions at a meeting scheduled for later this week.

The Russian Foreign Minister called for the formation of a support group to achieve a diplomatic solution to the crisis.

He said Ukraine should become a federal State with a new Constitution and urged United States and the EU that ensures the military neutrality of Ukraine and its political status.

The document also calls for making Russian the second official language in Ukraine.

Please follow and like us: