Congratulations to RICAGV Endorsed Candidates

 Congratulations to RICAGV Endorsed Candidates

Providence, Rhode Island (November 7, 2018)–The Rhode Island Coalition Against Gun Violence (RICAGV) congratulates the more than 60 RICAGV endorsed candidates at the Federal, State, and Municipal level who won their elections last night. Especially on the state level these are fantastic gains that will tilt the House and Senate decisively in favor of common sense gun regulation. We couldn’t be more excited to work with the numerous new and returning legislators in the General Assembly to make Rhode Island safer from the scourge of gun violence.

The RICAGV took the huge risk of opposing Speaker Mattiello and his A- NRA rating in his own district, and ultimately we fell a few votes short of unseating him. While we congratulate Speaker Mattiello on his hard fought victory, it does not change the fact that the multiple corruption scandals and poor decision making that have characterized his time as Speaker make him unfit for a leadership position. We call on all those in the legislature who support clean government that works for the people of Rhode Island to oppose Mattiello for Speaker of the House.

In order for Rhode Island to move forward on sensible firearm regulation, women’s rights, the economy, and other issues critical to the state’s success, it is imperative that the House move on from Mattiello’s corrupt, autocratic style of leadership. Rhode Islanders deserve better than a Speaker of the House who is beholden to the corporate gun lobby and other special interests.

Federal and State:
Sheldon Whitehouse for Senator
David Cicciline for House of Representatives
Jim Langevin for House of Representatives
Gina Raimondo for Governor
Dan McKee for Lt. Governor
Nellie Gorbea for Secretary of State
Seth Magaziner for Treasurer
Peter Neronha for Attorney General
Rhode Island Senate:
Maryellen Goodwin, Senate District 1, Providence
Ana Quezada, District 2, Providence
Gayle Goldin, District 3, Providence
Walter Felag, District 10, Bristol, Tiverton, Warren
James Seveney, District 11, Bristol, Portsmouth, Tiverton
Louis DiPalma, District 12, Little Compton, Middletown, Newport, Tiverton
Dawn Euer, District 13, Jamestown, Newport
Valarie Lawson, District 14, East Providence
Donna Nesselbush, District 15, North Providence, Pawtucket
Elizabeth Crowley, District 16, Central Falls, Pawtucket
William Conley, District 18, East Providence, Pawtucket
Melissa Murray, District 24, North Smithfield, Woonsocket
Joshua Miller, District 28, Cranston, Providence
Erin Lynch Prata, District 31, Cranston, Warwick