Senator Maryellen Goodwin Endorses Michael Solomon for Mayor of Providence

 Senator Maryellen Goodwin Endorses Michael Solomon for Mayor of Providence

City Committee Chairwoman and Senate Majority Whip cites Michael’s belief in city neighborhoods, sense of community

PROVIDENCE, RI – Providence Democratic City Committee Chairwoman and Rhode Island State Senator Maryellen Goodwin (D – Providence) endorsed Michael Solomon for Mayor of Providence today.

Senator Goodwin, who was elected chairwoman of the Providence Democratic City Committee in 2013, lauded Michael’s lifelong commitment to Providence’s neighborhoods, his years of public service, and his role in addressing and improving the city’s finances.

«Michael and I have worked closely together as a councilperson and a state senator, serving the Mount Pleasant and Elmhurst neighborhoods. As young people, our fathers taught us the value of public service and we have dedicated our lives to serving the residents of Providence,» said Senator Goodwin. «Michael is my friend, my colleague, and is the best candidate to move Providence forward.»

«I am honored to have Senator Goodwin’s support,» said Solomon. «Senator Goodwin is a strong advocate for Providence and her district at the State House. I look forward to continuing to work closely with her to revitalize all of our neighborhoods, create jobs for our residents, and rebuild our schools.»

Senator Goodwin, who serves as Senate Majority Whip, represents the Smith Hill, Elmhurst and North End neighborhoods of Providence in the Rhode Island State Senate. She is chairwoman of the Providence Democratic City Committee and serves as deputy chief of staff for Mayor Angel Taveras.

Senator Goodwin joins a growing list of Providence elected officials who have endorsed Michael Solomon for Mayor:

– Joe Almeida, State Representative District 12
– John Carnevale, State Representative District 13
– Michael Correia, City Councilman Ward 6
– John DeSimone, State Representative District 5
– Grace Diaz, State Representative District 11
– Terrance Hassett, City Councilman Ward 12 & President Pro Tempore
– Wilbur Jennings, City Councilman Ward 8
– Sabina Matos, City Councilwoman Ward 15
– Nicholas Narducci, City Councilman Ward 4 & Senior Deputy Majority Leader
– Thomas Palangio, State Representative District 3
– David Salvatore, City Councilman Ward 14
– Scott Slater, State Representative District 10
– Anastasia Williams, State Representative District 9
– Seth Yurdin, City Councilman Ward 1 & Majority Leader
– Sam Zurier, City Councilman Ward 2