Secretary Gorbea Urgently Reminds Rhode Islanders of October 9 Voter Registration Deadline

PROVIDENCE, RI – Secretary of State Nellie M. Gorbea is reminding Rhode Islanders
that they have until Sunday, October 9 to register to vote for the November 8
general election.

“The easiest way to register or update your registration is to go to and
use our online portal,” Secretary Gorbea said. “I want to make sure every eligible
Rhode Islander has registered prior to Sunday’s deadline. Be a Voter and make your
opinion count through your vote.”

Although the October 9 deadline falls on a Sunday, every city and town has made
arrangements for residents to register or change their address using a paper form on
the last day to register to vote. The Department of State’s Elections Division at
148 W. River Street in Providence will also be open on Sunday until 4 p.m. to accept
voter registration forms in person.

Rhode Islanders also have the ability to register or change their address using the
online voter registration portal located at
or in Spanish at Online users have until 11:59 p.m. on October 9 to
register or update their voter information using the portal.

Voters who have moved or changed their names since they last voted should update
their information by October 9 in order to avoid difficulties on Election Day. Any
address changes or new voter registrations made after October 9 will not be valid
for the November 8 election.

For more information about this year’s elections, visit
or call (401) 222-2340.

Local voter registration locations for Sunday, October 9:

Barrington Police Station, 100 Federal Road 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Bristol Police Station, 395 Metacom Avenue 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Burrillville Town Hall, 105 Harrisville Main Street 9:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Central Falls
Central Falls Police Station, 160 Illinois Street 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Charlestown Town Hall, Board of Canvassers, 4540 S. County Trail 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Coventry Library, 1670 Flat River Road 1:00 p.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Cranston City Hall 869 Park Avenue 8:30 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Cumberland Police Station, 1380 Diamond Hill Road 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

East Greenwich
East Greenwich Police Station, 176 First Avenue 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

East Providence
Weaver Library, 41 Grove Avenue 1:00 p.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Exeter Animal Shelter, 169 S. County Trail 9:00 a.m.- 2:00 p.m.

Foster Police Station, 182 Howard Hill Road Foster Town Hall, Drop Box All Day

Glocester Town Hall, 1145 Putnam Pike 12:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Hopkinton Police Station 406 Woodville Road 8:30 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.

Town Hall, Clerk’s Office, 93 Narragansett Avenue 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Johnston Police Station, 1651 Atwood Avenue 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Lincoln Police Station, 100 Old River Road 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Little Compton
Little Compton Public Safety Complex, 60 Simmons Road 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Middletown Police Station, 123 Valley Road 8:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Narragansett Police Station, 40 Caswell Street 8:30 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Newport Police Station Community Room, 120 Broadway 12:00 p.m.- 5:00 p.m.

New Shoreham
New Shoreham Police Station, 10 Beach Avenue 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

North Kingstown
North Kingstown Police Station, 8166 Post Road 8:30 a.m.- 1:00 p.m.

North Providence
10/08 North Providence Town Hall, Board of Canvassers, 2000 Smith Street G13 9:00
a.m.- 12:00 p.m.
10/09 North Providence Police Complex, 1967 Mineral Spring Avenue 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

North Smithfield
North Smithfield Police Station, 575 Smithfield Road #1 9:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Blackstone Valley Visitors Center, 175 Main Street 10:00 a.m.- 2:00 p.m.

Portsmouth Fire Station, 2300 East Main Road 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

10/08 Providence City Hall, Board of Canvassers, 25 Dorrance Street 12:00 p.m.- 4:00
10/09 Providence Safety Complex Drop Box, 325 Washington Street 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Richmond Police Station, 1168 Main Street 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Scituate Police Station, 116 Main Street 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Smithfield Police Station, 215 Pleasant View Avenue 8:30 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.

South Kingstown
South Kingstown Public Safety Complex, 1790 Kingstown Road 8:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Tiverton Police Station, 20 Industrial Way 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Warren Police Station (dispatch), 1 Joyce Street 8:30 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Warwick Public Library, 600 Sandy Lane 10:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Westerly Police Station, 61 Airport Road 8:30 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.

West Greenwich
West Greenwich Police Station, 280 Victory Highway 1:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

West Warwick
West Warwick Town Hall, 1170 Main Street 8:30 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.

Woonsocket Police Station, 242 Clinton Street 10:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.