Secretary Gorbea Announces Candidates Qualified For Rhode Island Presidential Preference Primary


PROVIDENCE, RI – Secretary of State Nellie M. Gorbea today announced the 16 presidential candidates who have qualified for the April 26th Rhode Island Presidential Preference Primary.

Those candidates are: Hillary Clinton (D), Roque «Rocky» De La Fuente (D), Bernie Sanders (D), Mark Stewart (D), Jeb Bush (R), Ben Carson (R), Chris Christie (R), Ted Cruz (R), Carleton «Carly» Fiorina (R), Jim Gilmore (R), Mike Huckabee (R), John R. Kasich (R), Rand Paul (R), Marco Rubio (R), Rick Santorum (R), and Donald Trump (R).

Qualified candidates no longer wishing to run for office have until February 23rd to file an affidavit of withdrawal. The Department of State will conduct a lottery to determine ballot order for presidential nominees and delegate candidates on March 9th at 5 p.m. in the Governor’s State Room at the State House.

For more information on the Presidential Preference Primary or any other information related to elections and voting in Rhode Island, please visit the Rhode Island Department of State’s Elections Division online at or call (401) 222-2340.