Raimondo Appoints Archibald and Nolan to Rhode Island Parole Board


PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Governor Gina M. Raimondo has appointed Dr. Mary J. Archibald, Ph.D. and Anne M. Nolan to the Rhode Island Parole Board.

«The Parole Board is a significant part of our criminal justice system,» Raimondo said. «I am confident that Dr. Mary Archibald and Anne Nolan will work hard to promote public safety in their new positions. We must continue to reform the system so that every Rhode Islander has the chance to lead a productive life, while keeping families and communities safe.»

«I look forward to serving on the Parole Board as we continue to improve criminal justice in Rhode Island,» Dr. Archibald said. «I believe that my experience in social work will be a valuable tool in this position.»

«The Parole Board is an important instrument of justice in our state,» Nolan said. «I am honored to have been nominated by Governor Raimondo.»

Dr. Archibald is an adjunct professor in the sociology department at Rhode Island College. She has also worked for the Providence School Department as a Truancy Officer/School Social Worker since 1998. Dr. Archibald earned her doctorate in social work from Fordham University, and both her master’s of Social Work and her bachelor’s of Social Work from Rhode Island College.

Anne Nolan is the former President and CEO of Crossroads Rhode Island, the largest homeless services organization in Rhode Island. She previously served on the Parole Board from 2011-2014. She holds a doctorate of education from the University of Illinois, a Master’s of Education from McGill University and a Bachelor of Arts from Westfield State College. Nolan also holds an honorary doctorate from the University of Rhode Island.

Dr. Archibald and Nolan will be replacing Dr. Frederick G. Reamer, Ph.D. and Ray Rickman, former State Representative and Deputy Secretary of State, whose terms have ended.

«I also want to thank Dr. Frederick G. Reamer, Ph.D. and former Rep. Ray Rickman for their dedication to the state while serving on the Parole Board, and I wish them the very best,» added Raimondo.

The Parole Board is composed of seven members appointed by the Governor. As per state law, the Board evaluates and considers the conditional early release of incarcerated offenders who have been sentenced to imprisonment for a term of more than six months.