New England Congressional Delegation Condemns LIHEAP Cuts

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, the New England Congressional Delegation issued the following statement regarding cuts to Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) in New England.

“We know New England was disproportionately hurt by the Department of Health and Human Services Fiscal Year 2019 Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program allocation,” said the Delegation. “LIHEAP is critical to seniors, people with disabilities, and the most vulnerable in our region. It keeps homes warm in the winter, and cooler in the summer. As a united New England delegation, we are looking into every option to address this issue to ensure our constituents are not impacted.”

The Members of the New England Congressional Delegation are:


  • Representative John Larson (CT-01)
  • Representative Joe Courtney (CT-02)
  • Representative Rosa DeLauro (CT-03)
  • Representative Jim Himes (CT-04)
  • Representative Jahana Hayes (CT-05)


  • Representative Chellie Pingree (ME-01)
  • Representative Jared Golden (ME-02)


  • Representative Richard Neal (MA-01)
  • Representative Jim McGovern (MA-02)
  • Representative Lori Trahan (MA-03)
  • Representative Joe Kennedy, III (MA-04)
  • Representative Katherine Clark (MA-05)
  • Representative Seth Moulton (MA-06)
  • Representative Ayanna Pressley (MA-07)
  • Representative Stephen Lynch (MA-08)
  • Representative Bill Keating (MA-09)

New Hampshire

  • Representative Chris Pappas (NH-01)
  • Representative Ann McLane Kuster (NH-02)

Rhode Island

  • Representative David Cicilline (RI-01)
  • Representative Jim Langevin (RI-02)


  • Representative Peter Welch (VT-AL)