Mayor Fung Receives Prestigious U.S. Sen. George F. Hoar Award


BOSTON, MA-Cranston Mayor Allan W. Fung was honored for his years of inspiring
public service and acting as a positive role model for the Chinese-American
community at the Chinese American Citizen Alliance Boston Lodge’s annual gala in
Boston on Saturday, Aug. 19.

Mayor Fung was one of three individual recipients of the U.S. Sen. George Frisbie
Hoar Award at the gala, joining Connecticut State Rep. William Tong and former
Fitchburg, Mass. Mayor Lisa Wong in receipt of the tremendous honor.

The award is named after former Massachusetts Sen. George F. Hoar, who served in the
Senate from 1879 to 1904 and was the only U.S. Senator to vote against the 1902
Scott Act, which was an extension of the Chinese Exclusion Act. Hoar was an
outspoken critic of anti-immigration policies and American imperialism in the late
19th and early 20th century. Also a founder of the Worcester County Free Institute
of Industrial Science, now the Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Hoar was a U.S.
Congressman before his election to the Senate and served as President of both the
American Historical Association and the American Antiquarian Society.

«It is a great honor to receive this recognition from the Chinese American Citizen
Alliance,» commented Mayor Fung. «As the Mayor of Cranston, it’s my job to work on
behalf of all residents, regardless of their backgrounds, but I am mindful that my
heritage has had a positive influence on my fellow Chinese-American citizens. I’m
very proud to receive this award from an organization that promotes ethics, morals,
public service and the core American values of freedom, liberty and equal justice
for all.»

Earlier on Saturday, Mayor Fung was a guest panelist during a special Town Hall
Meeting hosted by CACA at Tufts University. The topic was «Challenges, Opportunities
and Expectations on Public Service.» Joining Mayor Fung were California State
Treasurer John Chiang, Utah State Representative Karen Kwan, CACA National President
Edmond Gor and Committee of 100 Co-Founder Henry Tang.