JROTC Day at the RI State House


Representatives Robert B. Lancia, Michael W. Chippendale, Sherry Roberts, and
Robert A. Nardolillo, III. Announce JROTC Day at the RI State House
JROTC Cadets to be Honored During House Legislative Session

STATE HOUSE — Representative Robert B. Lancia (R-District 16 Cranston), Michael
W. Chippendale (R-District 40 Foster, Glocester, Coventry), Sherry Roberts
(R-District Coventry, West Greenwich), Robert A. Nardolillo, III. (R-District 28
Coventry), along with other RI House Representatives will honor Junior Reserve
Officer Training Corps (JROTC) units at the state house on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
at 3:30 p.m. during a reception before legislative session.

JROTC units from around the state will be honored by the Rhode Island House of
Representatives, including members of the RI 81st AFJROTC from Coventry High School,
members of the Thunderbolt Battalion from Cranston High School East, members of the
Blue Wave Battalion from Hope High School, members of the Viking Battalion from
Rogers High School, members of the William E. Tolman High School JROTC, and members
of Woonsocket High School’s JROTC program.

Lt. Colonel Christopher Corbett of the Cranston High School East JROTC program will
speak about the merits and history of the JROTC, and members of the Cranston High
School East JROTC will be presenting the colors.

Representative Lancia is a former Navy chaplain and disabled veteran, with a long
history of representing interests of Rhode Island’s active-duty and retired armed
forces members.

«I think it’s important for these dedicated JROTC cadets to be recognized for their
steadfast dedication to the values of citizenship, service to the United States, and
personal responsibility,» said Lancia.

JROTC has a unique approach to educating and mentoring the youth of this nation.
JROTC combines a rigorous curriculum with an extremely robust grouping of
extra-curricular activities.

Other House Representatives honoring JROTC cadets include Representatives Arthur
Handy (D-District 18 Cranston), Edith Ajello (D-District 01 Providence), Lauren H.
Carson (D-District 75 Newport), Jean Philippe Barros (D-District 59 Pawtucket), and
Robert D. Phillips (D-District 51 Cumberland, Woonsocket).